Thursday Doors 1/2/24: Draguć, Croatia 1.

Let’s continue with the doors from last Easter when we day-tripped to Croatia. This town once played Florence on film, if you believe it.

At least this is what my father told us after carefully planning this day with online help. But after Hum, the smallest town in the world from my previous two posts, first we had to eat something and father came up with Agrotourism Stara štala (“Old Barn”).

We had to wait for the motorcycle gang to depart and they seemed to have eaten most of the menu because all we got was some (good) pasta. But the view was brilliant (even though rain made us run indoors to eat) and the company special.

Then we drove some more and reached Draguć of which I had never heard before. How it was able to play Florence is not particularly clear. But there were doors and colours and nobody else but us and it was good this way. The second part of the town’s doors will come next week.

But before we have our stroll, how about Luka’s 73 points in a single game? (Here is a video with all of them.) You may have heard of it but unless you saw the game, you don’t know. This was the most effortless scoring imaginable. And then they tried to diss even that. If the fans are fed up, imagine how he must be feeling. The message he was giving was: “I don’t like how I’m being treated, by the refs, the media, the association. It’s disrespect. Unless you fix it, I’m going to score just like this every game, but also way way better. Just because I can. Watch.” I’m sorry for everybody who is prevented from cheering for Luka for any of the number of dumb reasons. The history will eat you alive.

For Thursday Doors challenge hosted by Dan at No Facilities

Published by Manja Maksimovič

A Slovenian in Italy for love. Blogger, photographer, translator and would-be writer who would be a writer if she wrote. Plus reluctant but emerging poet. Beware.

12 thoughts on “Thursday Doors 1/2/24: Draguć, Croatia 1.

  1. This is a great collection, Manja. I really like the splash of red and the bolder red and I love the reflection at the end.

    I love it when I visit places and find that it was where they filmed something that was supposed to be in another city. In 2003, I was in Vancouver, British Columbia and they were filming a scene taking place in New York City. It was amazing to me how they pulled off the illusion.

    I remember commenting on your post that I hoped Luka would improve in the game that was starting soon (when I made my comment) and then he set the record. That was amazing.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started