Thursday Doors 5/8/21: Piran 1.

After one week of doorliday, Dan is back and I have a new blog. Here are some doors from Piran on the Slovenian coast from two weeks ago.

Welcome to my new blog, sixth in a row. It shall go on as before, with nice big photos and a breath of fresh air. You do need to find the follow button below again though if you haven’t yet.

(Once again I wish to offer help if you encounter problems writing your comment after viewing the photos in the gallery. Does typing certain letters keeps throwing you back into the gallery? Refresh the page right before you start your comment and you should be fine.)

I’m now in Ljubljana, the capital of Slovenia, with my parents but I’ll always be grateful for our Piran where I spent the first two weeks of my holidays.

This is how a typical afternoon dog walk looks like in Piran. It starts at one side of our orange house and ends at our garden door which gives no hint of the permissive paradise that lies behind.

I have showed the garden many times (on my previous blogs) and will show it again, today here are some of my door friends that I keep passing and greeting and clicking on.

From the sea level many similar narrow alleys lead uphill but most dead-end. It can be tricky if you’re orientation-challenged like me. To make sure we take the correct one with our next visitors from Oregon (hi, Crystal and Pedro!), I took a photo of the door that you see when you look up the right alley. There it is at the end of the gallery, just before our garden door. Someone drew a heart on it. I love it.

Basketball update: Is Slovenia still the only unbeaten team in the Olympics? Today’s semi-finals against (currently also unbeaten) France starts in less than four hours. The winner plays the USA in the Saturday early morning finals. Well met.

For Thursday Doors challenge hosted by Dan at No Facilities

This day in my blogging history

Published by Manja Maksimovič

A Slovenian in Italy for love. Blogger, photographer, translator and would-be writer who would be a writer if she wrote. Plus reluctant but emerging poet. Beware.

49 thoughts on “Thursday Doors 5/8/21: Piran 1.

  1. I love the doos, the arches, the iron gates and the steep stone steps. I think I like the fish door the best today, but the (I think second) view through the arch is my favorite photo.

    I did type the letter ‘d’ several times, and I wasn’t tossed back into the comments. Refreshing the page does seem to work. Thanks Manja!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Thank you Manja for your email – I couldn’t get on your blog that way though. Had troubles this week with my password and can’t save info on my profile page! Hubby just told me that the ones who have yahoo have problems, because yahoo does not support Windows 10. LOVE your homey views here! Makes me so much want to make a trip to Europe, but I guess I have to wait till all that nonsense about the vaccines are over. Emille (former: Jesh)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Bojana! I just saw a Serbian woman win the golden karate medal! Wow! And Serbia is water polo finalist! And Slovenian GOAT Janja won the first free climbing gold in the history of Olympic Games earlier today. Yeahh!! Tomorrow for b-ball bronze… nothing else we can do now.

      Like

      1. I didn’t, sorry to hear it. I hardly watch anything. We’re mostly outside and when the TV’s on, most channels are covering the terrible fires in Greece.
        I get informed on the internet.

        Like

  3. Love these doors. I’m especially tickled by that tree and it’s nearness to the blue door.
    That grape vine looks so well behaved. I have one that choking out everything. If you stand still long enough it will grow on you. Lovely ironwork and the fish door is a cutie! 🙂 Nice post.

    Pat

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Pretty doors and laneways, Manja. Same here my site is almost full so will be moving to another one soon. And my post for this week is also from another site. Hope you can come and visit me there.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hah, I know! The previous one lasted almost two years. That’s long in my book. Piran is lovely all over but also a bit run-down and smelly and mismanaged and the like. But it gets the best light in Slovenia, I’m sure of it. Thank you, I. J. I hope you’ll stick around for my new adventures.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started