Lens-Artists PC: Queen light and Miss Tree

Light is queen but this is Miss Tree 2021. Father and I met her a week ago near Betnava Castle. Unlike photographers this tree cannot move and yet has been catching the best light for 250 years, experts estimate.

At first it sounded like another human folly to me, proclaiming a tree the winner of anything, but later I saw that on this year’s Earth Day locals from Maribor, Slovenian second city, had been asked to send in photos of their favourite trees and this sycamore (or plane, or platana, as we say) scored all available points from the jury of botanists.

When we chose Betnava Castle to visit (here is my Thursday Doors post from there), we had no knowledge of the existence of this tree, but as we were about to leave since the castle is not open to visitors, not one but two kind walkers asked us if we had seen their tree. We hadn’t, and now we simply had to.

A short lovely wooded path was leading to it across a pretty bridge and the light was seeping through, as it does.

I was glad to see that nobody had dressed up the tree or anything like that, only a wooden medal of sorts with Maribor coat-of-arms is proclaiming it Miss dreves 2021 (Miss Tree 2021).

This sycamore has been around for 250 years, they say. I’m sure the glory won’t go to its head now. But no matter how old it is, it knows perfectly well that it’s the light who is the queen, for trees as much as for photographers.

This episode has reminded me of what a friend who had visited Jamaica told me years ago. She is tall and white as that tree bark. As she was strolling among the natives, they kept calling after her: “Miss World! Miss World!”

And why so many similar photos, one might wonder. As I choose them, I wish to create the feeling of being there. I click as I blink, with wild abandon, and then I wish to share it all with you who weren’t there. After all, it’s the least I can do.

For Lens-Artists Photo Challenge, hosted by Tina at Travels and Trifles: It’s All About the Light

This day in my blogging history

Published by Manja Maksimovič

A Slovenian in Italy for love. Blogger, photographer, translator and would-be writer who would be a writer if she wrote. Plus reluctant but emerging poet. Beware.

32 thoughts on “Lens-Artists PC: Queen light and Miss Tree

  1. Wow, Quite a tree. So old. If trees could talk… I am glad you found it. it is one of those things that if you didn’t, you would think about it in your sleep. Well, thats me anyway.

    Like

  2. Oh goodness! Thanks for the comparison shot with your father. That tree is humongous. I love love love the light on the bark and the light through the leaves. I would have stood gazing, with my head tipped back, as you did.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. No light beats the light in a tree! Good idea and beautifully captured, Manja. This is a giant. I would have loved walking there with you. My favourite at home, the old beech tree, won me a competition where we were to portray our special tree and write a motivation why it was a favourite. Vernissage 4th of September. No beautiful medal like your tree…but I will get my tree on canvas when the exhibition is over in November. Honoured I am. Tree love is the greatest to me. My father loves them too.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. If trees could speak! The things they must have witnessed over the years. I’m so glad you share. Love the first two shots particularly with the silhouetted foliage and then the supermodel tree itself.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Your photos certainly do create a feeling of being in amongst that wonderful tree. I can see why it was crowned the best tree in the region. It’s magnificent. Thanks for linking to my blog.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started