Lens-Artists PC: Curvy stairs

Here is a collection of my more or less curvy staircases from Rome, Slovenia and the curviest garden of all times right here in Tuscany.

I was happy to see Leya’s theme for this week’s Lens-Artists photo challenge. Curves are dear and near to my heart.

When I saw Sofia’s lovely staircase in her post for this challenge, I was reminded of mine and told her that I might make a post with nothing but staircases. And then I saw Sarah’s monochrome staircase and made up my mind: staircases it would be.

Five galleries follow from five locations.

We start in an ordinary Roman apartment building where amore’s father lives on the ground floor. I always look up and sometimes click but I only ascended the stairs one time.

Not fully curvy but piano-shaped. No tricks or altering involved, only flash/no flash and lights on floors on or off.

The following are four glimpses of a grand staircase in Nebotičnik, The Skyscraper, a residential building with the terrace bar in Ljubljana, Slovenia. When built, in 1933, it was the highest building in middle Europe with its 13 floors. We were lucky because we were allowed to descend on foot. It was my first and only time to see this staircase.

Here is a short but lovely staircase to the Piran lighthouse. I visited it last September for the first time.

Škocjanski Zatok is a nature reserve on the Slovenian coast with a special emphasis on birds. This structure won acclaim and awards. It is full of interesting info on bird migration and free to visit.

For the end I have saved a place that first comes to mind when someone says curvy. It is 15 minutes from me and currently under maintenance. French artist Niki de Saint Phalle lived here and created the world around here with her husband Jean Tinguely and friends. This is how Il Giardino dei tarocchi, or the Tarot Garden, came to be. She is the queen of curves. Here are some of her staircases.

For Lens-Artists Photo Challenge, hosted by Leya: Curves

This day in my blogging history

Published by Manja Maksimovič

A Slovenian in Italy for love. Blogger, photographer, translator and would-be writer who would be a writer if she wrote. Plus reluctant but emerging poet. Beware.

29 thoughts on “Lens-Artists PC: Curvy stairs

  1. Nice selection of stairs. Re: the terrace bar in Ljubljana … funny how they allow you to walk down only after you’ve had a few drinks. Clearly Slovenia is not as litigious as here!

    Like

  2. Hi Manja, I checked out Sarah’s monochrome pictures and found them amazing. This theme of curves is interesting.
    I like the picture of the piano staircase with the flash ( the yello) makes it look like a piece of art. In the second picture, I like the one from the bar – the black and white one. It reminds me of a snail’s shell. The short flight of stairs in the lighthouse is beautifully captured. You’ve given a simple flight of stairs character, in this shot.
    The curvy garden is too curvy for my liking😀 It feels like an illusion.

    Like

  3. Wow, so many beautiful staircases! I love those piano-shaped ones, but was most intrigued by the building at Škocjanski Zatok – what a clever way to provide people with excellent bird sightings, even under water 😀 And thanks so much for the shout-out and link 😘

    Like

  4. Fabulous take on! I agree on your inspiration from Sarah and Sofia – but these are magnificent from you, Manja! Interesting with the same one in different light, and I too loved the piano – shape. Loved the bird building – much like the one we have in the nearest city here, Kristianstad. I love the wooden structures. Niki’s staircases are really something…but my favourite is the Piran lighthouse – love the stone work.

    Like

  5. Wow I have loved this. Hard to believe the Roman apt building IS for apartments. Everyone would be in great shape getting home. I love the Skyscraper. lol. A quick swig sure helps that walk. Than again…. And the Tarot Garden. absolutely fascinating. That is the same stature that your mom was with last week”. The curvaceous woman? Love them all. I love your part of the World so much. Donna

    Like

  6. I have always love Jean Tinguely’s work, the bigger it gets, the better. he seems to have a thing about wheels and fountains, not least explosions of colour. The staircase shots are wonderful. You give me ideas for sketching. If I ever reference your photos, I shall obviously ask permission first 🙂

    Like

    1. I think explosions of colour belonged to her wife Niki de Saint Phalle. They divided stuff like that. So good that you’re getting ideas. Please, feel free to use any photo ever without asking, Sunra Nina! Just acknowledge, but I know that you will. I’d be honoured!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started