PPAC: Prekmurje 3. – Lendava Castle

Before we exit the Castle after last week’s Hundertwasser exhibition, here are some artefacts from its permanent historical collection with a local tune in two versions.

You will see some interesting sculptures, some weapons, the model of the train station and an impressive shield. If you wish more information, visit this site.

We still have to visit a tower, a church and a cultural centre in this flat region of storks on chimneys, extremely welcoming people, great food and plenty of thermal spas. I miss my Slovenia.

Here, some music for you to feel the power of melancholy of this place. American band Walkabouts covers a song by the region’s most popular singer – songwriter Vlado Kreslin with his lyrics translated into English. (The original song is here.)

That Black Guitar

I was little Vlado then when the gypsies came a-wandering to our town
They’d come by the house and they’d start to play
And father would go to his room and pick up his guitar
Which he’d bought long ago
With his paltry pay

Mister, do you still have that guitar
Mister, do you still have that black guitar
That one was the best one by far

And they kept on asking long after that
Whenever they’d shill for a spare coin or two
Always when they played at the village saloon
And they’d take their breaks to drink at the bar
Whenever their wives stood by the door
And asked for old clothes
Their wives would implore:

Mister, do you still have that guitar
Mister, do you still have that black guitar
That one was the best one by far

Now when I come home
I sit beneath the chestnuts
And I drink
I drink with my friends
Who still call this home
And nearly every night
To the table they come
And play for us
With childish faces
And tremulous voices
They ask

And now that you know what it’s about, let’s put the Cuban twist to it. Vlado Kreslin, the song’s author, joins Ariel Cubría towards the end and tells him that his father still has this black guitar and plays on it too.

And now a short castle hop with some particularly interesting blogging memories. That toilet story still cracks me up. Be well and happy Friday!

For Photographing Public Art Challenge (PPAC) hosted by Marsha at Always Write

This day in my blogging history

Published by Manja Maksimovič

A Slovenian in Italy for love. Blogger, photographer, translator and would-be writer who would be a writer if she wrote. Plus reluctant but emerging poet. Beware.

15 thoughts on “PPAC: Prekmurje 3. – Lendava Castle

  1. The toilet story is pretty funny. Back when I was a kid and didn’t wear contacts, I often had problems of this sort. Once I went in and found a cigar stub in the toilet. Then I knew for sure I was in the wrong place! Great post Manja. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I enjoyed both tunes, but I preferred the Cuban one for its groove much more, I must say! I love a bit of cha cha cha. Thanks for the translation!

    Now, I’m sure you didn’t mean to but you have taken a rather subliminal photo of Amore standing next to what looks like a cannon. You know, it’s probably just my filthy Freudian mind so ignore me! Lovely sculpture shots.

    That photo of your maternal grandparents was made for a book cover!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started