Lens-Artists PC: Ch-ch-changes

I had a post with this title – a nod to David Bowie – back in 2015 when it was still Weekly Photo Challenge and this is its continuation.

Today’s post will include four slideshow galleries. I did my best to end on an up note but simply can’t. It’s so hard to find any upward spirals lately.

In that old post (which you can find here) I showed you a certain bush that I keep track of, and here it is again. The last photo is from last March. I feel a certain kinship. Can it be that it’s a fig tree?

All the changes in this post affect my immediate surroundings. The bush is by the sea less than 2 km from my home, where a couple of developments have taken place. First, the path. In two photos you can see that same bush on the right. The path is wooden now and in 2020 got the facilities.

Between the path and the sea there is a house which looked like a ruin when I first met it in 2013 but has since grown into a private club so fancy that I wish never to enter it. It looks pretty though. It went like this:

And finally, our neighbour has a big property with a donkey and diminishing geese. I call them Geese of the Apocalypse. In photos you can see how they escaped one time and how they kept complaining when bestia and I passed. I haven’t seen any goose since November when the featured photo was taken.

Come to think of it, I haven’t seen him lately either.

I did think of an upward spiral though! Slovenia has already won FIVE Olympic medals in Beijing. Today a silver and bronze in snowboarding have been added to the three in ski-jumping. Hurrah!

Quite a change from 1984 when Winter Olympic Games were held in Sarajevo, in what used to be my country, Yugoslavia. That one medal by Slovenian Jure Franko in Giant Slalom saved the day (an old post about this, if you are interested, from back when I still told things). Happy national cultural day, Slovenia!

For Lens-Artists Photo Challenge, hosted by John at Journeys with Johnbo: Change

This day in my blogging history

Published by Manja Maksimovič

A Slovenian in Italy for love. Blogger, photographer, translator and would-be writer who would be a writer if she wrote. Plus reluctant but emerging poet. Beware.

38 thoughts on “Lens-Artists PC: Ch-ch-changes

  1. I loved your close look are your neighborhood from over the years. You live in a beautiful place. I already knew tha,t but I love how you took us done the path. Nice interpretations for the change. Donna

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I enjoyed your galleries, and now realize that it’s a tool that I can use as well. You’ve put the function to good use in your response to my challenge.
    It is interesting to see the changes in the large bush over the seasons, but I also like the gallery of images featuring the geese.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, John. 🙂 I’m glad that you like the post and that this type of gallery could be of use to you too. I see that every blogging theme handles it differently though. In my first blog I was able to add captions but now I’m unable (or don’t know how). Newsflash: Still no geese but today I saw the donkey!

      Like

      1. We have many geese around here but they are the wild Canada good kind and they are aloof and very confident in themselves, so they pay no attention to most people. I am certain they think humans are unworthy of notice.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. I think the bush is ok instead of a tree…yes! Love your galleries, and most of all your lovely pictures of all the animals. Cats, dogs, donkeys, geese. And as i read through your commenters…comments…I realised you Are upward spiraling! I try to as well, and you are a wonderful and positive help!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Oh, you capture animals so well! Those cats! What a photo opportunity, fantastic 😀

    The baying geese, total money shot, wonderful contrast of colour, movement and in-motion action.
    The boxer dog, the donkey, beautiful.

    And the bush of the seasons, the paths your camera describes and the evolution of the house of that club house are so interesting. There is something off-putting about a newly built place, isn’t there? Like it’s so devoid of atmosphere, you just don’t want to be around it.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started