Lens-Artists PC: 15 special places

Hi, I’m Manja Mexcessive, this is my blog An Embarrassment of Riches and here are my 15 special places.

As you can imagine I could come up with more than 15 places that are dear and near to my heart, but you are lucky that I already covered 20 of them two years ago in my Lens-Artists post for Leya when she asked about our Special spot shots.

I’m especially happy that I discovered the first four of today’s 15 only last year here in Italy, either with my uncle or with my visitors from Oregon. Two getaway destinations with Flavia follow, even though I could include more.

After a stop in Trastevere, my favourite part of Rome, we cross into Slovenia and revisit some of my favourite places in my country of origin, such as the view from grandma’s apartment in Maribor, the spot by Lake Bohinj where we used to spend happy family holidays, magical Kranjska Gora, and my parents’ garden in Piran which I hope to see again soon.

I finish with two beach scenes which are no longer accessible: first one because the path is off limits now, second because it’s too far and I can’t climb rocks any more.

It just so happens that additional three locations, which I first thought of including, appear in my blogging memories at the end of the post. They are fabulous Massa Marittima, zen Lake Bolsena, and thirsty Torri, a town without a bar but with a lovely abbey.

What’s with the dog in the featured photo, you ask? No, this is not Bestia. It’s Žak, our first dog, and he gets two photos today. This month will be 23 years since we found a whole new-born litter in the garbage container and raised three by the bottle. I loved walking him in the wooded hill in the centre of Ljubljana which was also the location for my mother’s #60 surprise party.

Welcome to my life and thank you for the gift of your time which is more precious than any jewels.

For Lens-Artists Photo Challenge, guest-hosted by Karina at Murtagh’s Meadow: A Special Place

This day in my blogging history

Published by Manja Maksimovič

A Slovenian in Italy for love. Blogger, photographer, translator and would-be writer who would be a writer if she wrote. Plus reluctant but emerging poet. Beware.

46 thoughts on “Lens-Artists PC: 15 special places

  1. Steven Wright…I do love his humor. Ah, Zak. I thought it was bestia all fluffed up! The view from your grandma’s window is beautiful, but she stood on the windowsill??!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Lois. I love him too. I’ll search for a performance of his right now. He always cheers me up. Yes, Žak was our first dog, after I wanted one since very little. We found the litter when I was 39. 🙂 And yes, she indeed stood on the narrow windowsill, one leg out, one leg in. I could barely look at her.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Jo. When I saw some photos of this river online, I knew I’d go and see it for myself soon. The colour is real! And yes, living in my memories right now more and less. And online.

      Like

  2. The Elsa is magical, and lake Bohinj reminds me of a lake on Crete I visited last year. Same greenery, same color.
    And yes, I too regret not being able to climb the rocks to see all those beautiful beaches. The less accessible, the more precious.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Bojana. Slovenia is sooo green. Tuscany too, but in other seasons. They go together well. True about climbing. I wish to be able to still climb the Alps. There are 7 Triglav lakes that I’d love to see again.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. All these places look beautiful, I can easily see why they are special to you. I’m intrigued by the abandoned monastery in Monterano, it looks like a wonderful spot for photography. And your shots of Slovenia are all lovely, I think I need to visit one day!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Fabulously beautiful and special, Manja! And you had a quote by Astrid! Žak is wonderful – but you raised more puppies from that litter? Where did they all go? Love the monastery and the view from your grandma’s windowsill. And the Piran garden of course, and…all of them. Thank you for brightening my day!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. LOVE your photos, that gorgeous orange light pre-sunset, so beautiful. It almost looks fake in photos but is very very real. And you don’t have long to catch it so it’s special when you can.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started