Day One & Friendly Friday frames

Just like my English, my photography is that little bit wrong. And that’s what saves me.

Damn! I just realised that after eight years and six free blogs, WordPress has reduced my free upload space from 3 GB to 500 MB! Thanks for nothing!! I started this blog in August and am at 100% already. And how can you limit visits to 10,000 per month?? I can only wish it was an April 1st joke, but nothing about capitalism is.

Now it’s a few hours later and the error has been clarified (read about it here if interested). Even though our blogs say that the upload storage is full, the 500 MB limit only applies to newly opened blogs! For the existing ones it’s still 3 GB, just the display is wrong. They will fix it. Pheeeew! (The capitalist part stands though.)

So for now we are still here, and this is Day One of NaPoWriMo 2022 and its first prompt:

Prompt 1: “Write your own prose poem that, whatever title you choose to give it, is a story about the body. The poem should contain an encounter between two people, some spoken language, and at least one crisp visual image.

Prose poem so soon! I made mine a drabble, of exactly 100 words (without the title). I hope to publish a book of them one day. Also, it’s a true one, just how I like them.

Operating body

I’m lying belly down on the surgery table. My tail is being amputated.

It’s enough that they are taking your tail, but then they don’t even put you under for it. I bet they would if I were a dog. Actually, it’s just some hairs growing in the wrong direction (that is, on the inside) but I like “tail” better.

So I can hear everything. The surgeon asks the nurse: “Where is it from? Because it can’t drive like this.” 

Years pass and the surgeon dies in the mountains for his political conviction. He leaned too much to the right.

In photos, examples of my framing for Friendly Friday challenge and Sarah. Slightly off? Good this way.

For Friendly Friday Challenge hosted by Sarah at Travel with me: Framing your subject

This day in my NaPoWriMo history

2018: April 1st

Every full moon
I meet other beasts.
We run
we kill.
The next morning
I wash my hair.

(Read all.)

2019: How to take a photo

You need magic all around
and eyes to see it,
the camera comes last.

(Read on.)

2020: Lifelike

My life is the eyebrow
shooting up
when I say
“Tuscany”.

Now you,
who know life,
tell me:
If it’s true –
is it still a metaphor?

(Read all.)

2021: Jazz, she scoffs

Things come
and go
and explode,
except
that one line.

That one line is a constant.

Find your constant
in the sea of
explosions
and stick to it. (Read all.)

This day in my blogging history

Published by Manja Maksimovič

A Slovenian in Italy for love. Blogger, photographer, translator and would-be writer who would be a writer if she wrote. Plus reluctant but emerging poet. Beware.

48 thoughts on “Day One & Friendly Friday frames

  1. I don’t feel your frames are really off at all 🙂 A few are unusual but that’s good as it illustrates how versatile framing can be in adding impact to your shots! Thanks for joining in 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I don’t use WordPress storage anymore, I just upload the photos directly from my files. Not sure if that decreases the space you use. I also make the photos small before I post them.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I click “image” and then “upload” which then lets me choose a file stored on my computer–actually I have them all stored in a portable drive connected to my computer.

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Sorry it didn’t help. It’s much different than the way I used to do it where I had to download it twice–once to wordpress storage and then again to my blog. I like it much better. One of the few positive things they’ve added.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. What an intriguing tale! (no pun intended lol) Such a mysterious ending. It reminds me of some enigmatic writer like Murakami or someone who leaves you hanging with questions and doesn’t ever explain it. And what’s a drabble? Today is a school day for me.

    P.s. do rant again, I so enjoy them 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I have yet to read him, but I think I know what you mean. I’m fond of limitations, and when I learned of drabbles, which originally are (I think) scary stories of up to 100 words, I pounced and made mine exactly 100 words. I wrote a book with 70 drabbles for my father’s 70 (in Slovenian). So yes, things are left unsaid. 😀 Your P.S. made me laugh. 😀 😀 You DON’T wish that, Sunra Nina. Thanks!

      Liked by 2 people

      1. I’m fond of limitations too, I think they help! Is that a drabble?! How interesting. In that case, I’ve written a few in my time 🙂 What an amazing present for your dad! That’ll become a family heirloom, I’ll bet. Manja’s thoughts.

        I do wish that! One person’s rant gives everyone else permission to rant and a good old rant clears the air! 😀

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Your … “English, (and) photography is that little bit wrong” but your imagery is entirely on point. Your poem is very visual and keeps me thinking all the way to the end and after 🙂
    Nothing wrong with you photos either.

    Liked by 2 people

      1. If I were allowed to tweak your words I would say “.. your English and photography may be a little bit off but your imagery is entirely on point.” 😉

        Liked by 2 people

      1. Thank you, Ju-Lyn. This comment was in spam. I already compress my images by up to 80% with this tool: https://imagecompressor.com/. My capacity is fine now, it was a false alarm. But if they really do this and set the limit for new blogs to 500 MB, this changes everything for new bloggers. That will be full in no time.

        Like

      2. Ju-Lyn, your post in November about compressing photos saved me. I’ve gone back and compressed many of my photos, which allowed me to go from 50% to 33% capacity. Thank you.

        And Manja, I’m glad your troubles got sorted out. I can just imagine your panic!

        Liked by 1 person

      1. Hi / typo indeed!!
        Post!
        Great post
        And we will see what happens – I think change is inevitable and the current biggest platforms won’t always be the biggest – guess we shall see

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Quite, Amanda. It’s horrible. Good luck that I started when I did, or instead on blog No. 6, I’d be on blog No. 36? (My math is rather… slow.) Imagine how this changes free blogging.

      Like

  4. Dear Manja, I love your photos, as always, especially the reflection of the sculpture in Capalbio. And your poem! How evocative and chilling.

    So glad your blog capacity issue got worked out; I’m sorry you had to go through that!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started