Day 16 & PPAC: Florence

Today celebrates the daughter of two good friends. Eight years ago we were in Florence all together. I haven’t been back since.

She was seven years old then and our bestia loved her immediately, and vice versa. In today’s blogging memories at the end of this post you can see what a beautiful sculpture of our dog she made a couple of years later. And this was her most creative photo from the moving train at age 7.

Photo: E. M.

First a poem for her and for NaPoWriMo, and the photos will follow.

Prompt 16: “Today, I’d like to challenge you to write a curtal sonnet. This is a variation on the classic 14-line sonnet. The curtal sonnet form was developed by Gerard Manley Hopkins. A curtal sonnet has eleven lines, instead of the usual fourteen, and the last line is shorter than the ten that precede it.” 

It just so happened that on this day in 2018, the first year I took part in our poetry month, I also wrote a sonnet. There it is in my first NaPoWriMo memory below, or at least the beginning of it. Click “read on” to read it in full.

My 2019 memory is peculiar too because it was a cento, made with lines from my favourite poems, including some by you. Remember that? 🙂

I never heard of a curtal sonnet before and was confused because in all three examples by Mr. Hopkins the rhyme pattern is slightly different. In any case, I wrote something like it.

Halfway to thirty 

As if it’s April and she poem fifteen, 
halfway to thirty – which itself is nothing –
she’s in her room, alone, and it’s her birthday. 

She tested positive. “Quarantine”, “vaccine” 
are daily words in company of coughing. 
Her father’s book of poems is a wordplay. 

She once requested live dog as a present. 
But then she smartened up, her dad says, laughing. 
Of all these birthdays she will get no replay.
 
No dog, and yet she knows the time most pleasant: 
the book, no doubt, no cliché.

Happy birthday, E., and I wish you back to health soon!

This post is for Marsha and her public art challenge, so let’s go to Florence together and see what all we can see in the streets there artwise. As I said, this was in 2014. No Thursday Doors yet but my eyes and camera knew what was coming. And also – did you know that Florence and Firenze are one and the same?

For Photographing Public Art Challenge (PPAC) hosted by Marsha at Always Write

The last day in my NaPoWriMo history

2018: A Sonnet to April Awakening
Today I wish to tell you a true story
of how a poem properly is written.
Not only nature’s wonders truly fit in
but it’s the holiest of all things holy:

A sonnet! As they do it in Great Britain
yet not: behold! This form looks foreign wholly,
befitting more some other nations’ glory.
The bel paese bards were with it smitten.

Read on.

2019: Art likes to make more of itself
There is no point to this poem. (1) 
I would like to walk around
in a small coat of words (2)
through the meadows  
where no grass has ever grown. (3)
I keep forgetting what
a tired country this is. (4)
Worms worm,
seeds sowing. (5) 
(Read the cento in full.) 
2020: Via Larga
I love you, Via Larga.
I love the entire Viterbo around you,
but I love you the most.
You are large by name but really tiny,
rich in colours
but fully unremarkable,
with a door at the end
that made me grin
like a Gypsy at white bread
and feel that I was in the right place
with the right person
who became giddier
and chattier in you too,
Via Larga,
although we had already been in excellent mood. 
(Read on.)
2021: Daily poem 
A daily test.
No time for rest.

- Are you for real?
- I can still feel...

- How are you, woman?
- I am still human.

- Are you sure you’re a poet?
- How would I even know it?

- Why are these words lumped?
- They are ready to be dumped.

This day in my blogging history

Published by Manja Maksimovič

A Slovenian in Italy for love. Blogger, photographer, translator and would-be writer who would be a writer if she wrote. Plus reluctant but emerging poet. Beware.

18 thoughts on “Day 16 & PPAC: Florence

  1. I haven’t been to Florence in years, and who knows when travel will be easier again. Thanks for the memories 🙂

    Like

  2. What a fun post, Manja. You have been involved in NaNoPoMo for a long time. I’ve done NaNoWriMo but I should have taken the poem challenge. You make it look so much fun. I loved all your art. Is one of those doors the one that took 50 years to make? I was quite fascinated with it at the time. I’m not sure where my Italy photos are – still packed away, I think.(pre-digital) Your friend E is quite a talented artist. That looks like the work of an adult to me! Thanks so much for sharing these memories with us, Manja. I’m glad you like the list of links. I do too.

    Like

  3. I wish her back to health soon too. I know so many who have gotten it the past few weeks.
    What a wonderful artist and of course handsome model as well.
    And Florence! Someday we will all return. (K)

    Like

  4. This is somewhere I’ve always wanted to visit – one day, I hope. Meanwhile I loved my virtual tour with you. So many lovely scenes and interesting corners 😀

    Like

  5. What a lovely salute to your friend E.! I wish her a speedy recovery and a quick return to her art. (I love the Bestia photo, clay and flesh.)

    Thank you also for the beautiful images of Florence. The facade of the Duomo always takes my breath away, especially when I come upon it by surprise, as I did with your feature photo or when entering the piazza from a side street (as I did back in 2016). I also especially love the color, shapes and composition of the green bicycle photo. Truly one for framing!

    Finally, I enjoy the poetry of Gerard Manley Hopkins, especially “Pied Beauty,” which beautifully celebrates “dappled things.” Aren’t we all?

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Lovely poem. And the shots, remarkable. bet you were excited when you saw that brick-faced door! The fishpond is Giardino delle Rose is my fave shot – the sunlight in that, the fishes, just luminous!

    Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started