Happy birthday, travelling uncle!

Let’s have a look at the past year in red and green. You always need to wear this red shirt when we go to nature!

First you came to pick me up in Tuscany in June and then delivered me back safely three and a half months later, when we went on our memorable daytrip and discovered some possibly Etruscan ruins.

But there is also your garden in Ljubljana and my parents’ garden in Piran and some photos that you sent me through the year, including best of all – the four of an amazing sunset which I have showed on here already but deserve the repeat. Let’s ho!

There are eight galleries, each with four photos. The first is from your garden with two photos sent by you and two by me.

Your marvellous garden is the venue for our annual card tournament. The tallest fir tree is as old as I am.

In the end of September when you took me back to Tuscany we went on our only day trip of the year. First there was a waterfall, then a peculiar hunting poligon, and next quite a long and hot search for some ruins.

No matter that the directions and Google Maps were confusing, we managed to find the remains of the Castellardo fortress near Canino in southern Etruria. Who knows what once was going on around here. Now the place is fully deserted (apart from one tool) and full of cyclamen.

After that we stopped at Ischia di Castro for the door tour. There were many Thursday Doors posts from here. All doors must come to an end, you said, and we went to Lake Bolsena to get you an Ichnusa beer.

As we always do, we had to visit Porto Ercole but the terrace of our favourite bar was left without the roof and is not as nice any more.

Here are some views from Piran on the Slovenian coast where you like to visit my parents. You went for a swim on one of the last days in October, which is not what I’d expect.

And finally, your beautiful sunsets from Piran, taken last April. And I’m not just saying this so that you would come and take me to Slovenia again.

Happy birthday, uncle Matic, cin cin and pridi kaj!

Published by Manja Maksimovič

A Slovenian in Italy for love. Blogger, photographer, translator and would-be writer who would be a writer if she wrote. Plus reluctant but emerging poet. Beware.

25 thoughts on “Happy birthday, travelling uncle!

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started