Day 28: Index 2023

I’ve been waiting for a good prompt to unleash something a bit special. Index sounds just right. See if anything about this poem seems familiar.

Prompt 28: Today, I challenge you to write your own index poem. You could start with found language from an actual index, or you could invent an index, somewhat in the style of this poem by Kell Connor.

Index 2023

I thought
I knew how to make you, poem.1
I will resist you, pushing through the pain.  
My mind cannot be changed, you understand.2

Yet, this is a fairy-tale and  
it should be told as such.3
I knew a woman surnamed Sleep 
who would not come to bed.4
She wanted to watch
just not by herself
I know how she feels.5
In despair of not being 
she felt like she never was. 
I understand that now.6
Elusive – what was that word again?7

My blood remembers
why it paled abroad.8
Empty thoughts offer no consolation to a frustrated poet.9
The shadows will try to find
entry to your soul and throat,10
unseen glinting yellow green mean.11
Little rivers inside me 
all they want is to flow.12
The sound of rushing water is heavy on my brain 
as a heron watches a duck duck 
in a still river,13
my unseen, unseeable, 
very very near, actually 
just concrete  
pond.14

Naughty kittens wearing mittens
chase the bewildered deer.15
To the wounded deer,  
even the rustle of a blueberry bush 
sounds too much like violence.16

Dear poem, I want you 
to rise above the noise.17
Savour the aroma of my slow-cooked rump.18
Move next door.
Go live in the woods. Wear green. 
Pull a sword from a stone.19 
Make beautiful nonsense filled with words
and fill the spaces between words
with more words.20
Leave your word lines behind and 
migrate into this lazy light.21
I will improve, come night.22
The night ripples with words waiting to take flight,23
all hued and rued by bedtime tales
told by stars to other stars.24

This is the crotch of poetry, 
giving birth to words. 
I offer you a bouquet of them.25
They’ll still be free to dance
just like they used to26
until we got it right
until it became music
until it became poetry.27

I trek on, 
heedless of sign and season.28
I do not fight, I am not
fire, I am flame.29
On my own, 
I’d found the me that I was meant to be.30

Have you guessed it? This is a cento, made of favourite lines from thirty poems written this April by you, my co-participants in this year’s NaPoWriMo! Not a word has been changed, just a few capital letters, line breaks and punctuation marks.

These are the 30 included poets with the links to their poems or blogs (if any poet prefers, I’ll remove the link):

  1. Romana Iorga. (The poem has expired. Her latest poem is here.)
  2. Dr Paula Aamli: Decaying Daisies
  3. Nataša Božić Grojić: Vasa’s Cake
  4. Christopher Perry: Nominative Determinism
  5. Xan: Hail
  6. Lex Leonard: Prismojen
  7. Angela van Son
  8. Gloria D. Gonsalves: Homecoming in Red (The poem has expired. Her latest poem is here.)
  9. Ken Gierke: Empty thoughts ~ American Sentence
  10. N. K. Hasen: Shadows Lurk in the Corner
  11. Barbara Turney Wieland: Crocodiles
  12. Chandni Girija: Why do I Write?
  13. Ruth Berkoff: Easter Saturday
  14. Alana Prochuk: Heather
  15. Punam: The Gardenias of Grace
  16. Elizabeth Burnam: Green Flash at Sunset
  17. Selma Martin: Li’l Linnet
  18. Montaffera: Hopping to It
  19. Donna M Day: One hundred ways to find the One
  20. Angela Smith (Flutterby): To Do List
  21. Kerfe Roig: Abstracted and Possessed
  22. Smitha Vishwanath: I write the life I like
  23. Mary Beth Frezon: The Eve of April
  24. Mirjana M (Oloriel): Dandelions
  25. Judy Dykstra-Brown: Body of Love
  26. Elizabeth Boquet: The A Train Remains
  27. Bruce Niedt: Calibrachoa
  28. Maggie C: Sonnet Sunday
  29. 7eyedwonder: Hon(nora)
  30. Glenn Mitchell: What Dad Didn’t Teach Me

I spent with you all day today, and all month. Thank you for your words and company!

I came up with two similar NaPoWriMo centos in previous years:

Published by Manja Maksimovič

A Slovenian in Italy for love. Blogger, photographer, translator and would-be writer who would be a writer if she wrote. Plus reluctant but emerging poet. Beware.

41 thoughts on “Day 28: Index 2023

    1. Alana, beautiful that it made you wish to read the poems. Most of the best I have read all month are gathered here. Right now I’m posting four new centos, made of the famous last lines… Two more coming up. Be well.

      Like

      1. Hello dear Manja! I am sorry for the super late reply. I have been tied up with family things but very glad to get back into reading your blog and honoured by the inclusion in your cento project. I think you can say that my blog is set to private (but if you already linked to it where it leads to the login screen, that is okay too!). Sending all my good wishes for wellness and delight and creative inspiration!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Thank you for your reply! The cento with your lines – the forth with final April lines – will be posted on Friday. Today I got the first complaint regarding the copyrights, no matter that I always link to the poem. I feel a bit bummed. But still, the forth is ready.

        Like

      3. I appreciate your work to pay homage to so many NoPoWriMo poets and carefully read so many poems and look for interesting ways to put them in dialogue!

        Liked by 1 person

  1. What fun! I read through your poem before I read the explanation and was stymied over how we could have come up with the exact same lines! Then I got a hunch as to what you had done. They all flow so well together. Well done. Bet you had fun….

    Like

  2. Thank you for the inclusion. It amazed me to remember some of the lines and respective poets without referring to your listing. That speaks a volume of how much I feel connected to this April community. Two days to go and you have gifted us a beatiful curated memento to take with us. Grazie mille!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Dear Gloria, thank you! I did more mementos. I’ve been leaving you comments under your Day 30 poem to inform you that I did another cento with your words. I know you will see it eventually. We indeed felt connected and it was hard to let go, that’s why I did four centos with our famous last lines in April. On Friday I’ll post the last one. Your lines were in cento No. 2. Thank you!!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Good morning sunshine! What a phenomenal “thing” to wake up to.

    An amazing composition of concise lines from various amazing poets ✍🏻 among whom you included me. (((Hugs))) And the honor will live on. Thanks so heartily my friend. I bless you and wish you miracles xo

    Like

    1. Manja, I love what you’ve done here. Thank you for including me. It’s such a lovely celebration of NaPoWriMo 2023, friendship and the love for poetry. I haven’t done much reading this year because of the travel and the book. But, I intend to catch up on the poetry of all the lovely poets you’ve included here. Cheers to another year of friendship❤️

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Thank you for the shoutout, dear Manja! I’m honored to be included in this beautiful cento. And I’m grateful for all the cross-pollination this month. Hugs to you, fellow poet. See you on the poetry trails!💜

    Like

  5. This is just sooo good!! It was worth coming here just to read the line:

    “This is the crotch of poetry
    giving birth to words”. 😀

    By the way, is that green photo at the end one of yours? Silly question, I’m sure it probably is – I absolutely love it, it looks just like an impressionist painting of dappled sunlight.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, Sunra Nina, it is my photo. Sometimes – rarely – I click like this too. Not altered much either. I’m so glad that you came back to read this one. Here some of the very best lines of all month are gathered (from what I’ve read). Happy giving birth to words to you and all of us! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started