Four April centos: No. 4

We have reached the final, fourth cento made of our last April lines. Thank you most kindly for your words!

Above all, I wish to congratulate every NaPoWriMo participant on reaching Day 30 and poem 30. See you again on another April 1st.

Next, I apologise for not asking your permission in advance. I know that this is the proper thing to do, but there were 96 of you – actually, 94: one is me, and one poet has two Day 30 poems included in today’s cento.

Why two? Because she expressed dissatisfaction at not being a part of my Day 28 cento where only 30 poets were included. I believe this gave me the idea to incorporate the final lines from all 96 poems linked to NaPoWriMo’s Day 30 into my four centos. As a reward, I chose the endings of two of her poems.

Of course, now there are some complaints again (actually, one), over copyrights. A proof that you cannot please all, but we knew that. However, all the rest of the feedback has been extremely positive so I’m happy that I’m doing this.

Today’s cento is more about content than form. That these lines go together was clear at a first glance. How wouldn’t they, seeing that all these 29 poetry month-closing lines are:

On writing 

Every April
I surprise myself1
writing every day 
waiting for anything worth 
noting then writing.2
I’d be a liar if I said
I do not love this game of words!3
Lyre Lyre pants on Fire!4
I wrote one word and then another word
and it just went on like that for a month.5
Many days felt too prosy
others weren’t as plodding6
which showed us how we started 
our beginning days, 
and how we would continue further7:

Whatever you do,
make sure they won’t understand.
Hide it.
Hide it well.8
Reject the AI,
there’s no app for this.9
Your mentor lives in you; don’t seek it in the world.10
Have thoughts of their own;
hidden in their text or pages
within themselves.11
And whatever your game, do it as well as you can.
Gig ‘em!12
Minutes! Seconds! All these years’ labour. You’re still pacing 
circles. Why behave clocklike? Still your two hands.13
pause. still. lines emerge to show
how to palinode14
Yes. Palinodes have their uses. Definitely.
Mea Culpa.15
And now, we are all more Nigerian. Amen to all of that.16

As of right now
my recliner has picked up the slack.17
There is room for all moods in this house now.  
I’m grateful for a place to let it all out.18
The days are getting longer
I can still walk
and think
and write.19
Is this a fresh start? Is this the end?20
It’s getting hot.
Happy end of the month.21

Finales are fleeting
And bear some repeating,
And endings are only a pause.22
Some endings are essential,
Some endings liberate you,
Some endings are a beginning,
A beginning to meet new ‘You’23
Quotable how? 
Quotable new 
Quotable now 
Quotable you!24
I know what I wrote; I do. 
I wrote what I wrote. I did. 
(I’m glad I left out the squid.)  
Oh, wait. Squid? 
Maybe in May, eh?25
Thanks Napowrimo, I’ll toast you a beer
2024 will soon come round, see you next year26,
and a feather again becomes a savage quill27
forging your place in the family of things.28

So step back, squint your eyes;
It looks just like a poem.29
  1. Bruce Niedt: a hay(na)ku
  2. Mary Beth Frezon: NaPoWriMo 2023 Day 30
  3. Angela Smith (Flutterby): Game of words
  4. Bryan Ens: Have we been interpreting it wrong?
  5. Michael Jarmer: Thirty
  6. Veronica Hosking: NaPoWriMo
  7. Snigdha Choudhuri: Kitchen Love
  8. Nataša Božić Grojić: Write a poem they won’t understand
  9. Cassie Fogal
  10. Manoj Krishnan: Let Your Soul Be Your Confidante
  11. N. K. Hasen: Does A Book Read My Thoughts?
  12. Bill Reynolds: To Be Fair—
  13. Alana Prochuk: Clocklike (Alana’s blog is currently set to private.)
  14. Arti Jain: how to palinode
  15. Amita Sarjit Ahluwalia: PALINODES HAVE THEIR USES
  16. Graham Parker: NaPoWriMo 2023, Day 30
  17. Kim Beautifleye Boddie: I take it back
  18. Farah Lawal Harris: Retraction Re: Sad Poetry
  19. Eric Erb (Erbiage): The streets here are not straight
  20. Amita Sarjit Ahluwalia: CLOVEN
  21. Manja Maksimovič: Amazing discovery
  22. S. G. Liput: Disenchanted (2022)
  23. Vandana Bhasin: An End or a Beginning
  24. Meg Sump: “Every quotable quote came from an aggrieved party”
  25. Ron. Lavalette: The Sum-Up
  26. Phil Tongue: See you next year
  27. Kim M. Russell: The Poet Gives Up
  28. Selma Martin: Odd Ode For You To Decode
  29. Catching Lines: Paint Poem

Still your two hands. Piran, Slovenia, the family of things.

Four April centos:

Three previous NaPoWriMo centos:

Published by Manja Maksimovič

A Slovenian in Italy for love. Blogger, photographer, translator and would-be writer who would be a writer if she wrote. Plus reluctant but emerging poet. Beware.

22 thoughts on “Four April centos: No. 4

  1. Leave it to you to think this up. You’re simply unstoppable and inimmitable. And I don’t know how you get to have all the fun, sweet Manja. Tremendously amazing.
    As for me, your choosing that last line— what an honor my friend. I bless you.
    Your cento is indeed delicious.
    We are family… xoxo

    Liked by 3 people

    1. You are kind, Selma, and give really good words. True, I invent new ways to have fun all the time. 😀 This was a rather special experience. It all fits so well. We do. We are indeed, a special family. Much love. And thank you!!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Wonderful finale, Manja! Thank you for honoring everyone’s efforts this month. The detractors will keep detracting, you do what you do. Much love and looking forward to more writing—and perhaps walking—together!💜🍃

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you kindly, Romana, also for clarifying things about centos in your email. I had a hunch that it is in this way and it has been for a while. Anything together would be marvellous. Here’s to the thought.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. This feels like such a beautiful farewell and memories of April poetry came flooding back. Thank you for letting me know about all four of your posts and sharing them with me. The journey of napowrimo and poetry has been achingly beautiful and you captured it so well💓

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You are most welcome, Arshi, and thank you for your interest. Achingly beautiful sounds absolutely lovely. I suppose I needed another month to be truly done with our April. To many more.

      Like

  4. Great cento. So strange as it is the last day of May and WordPress just now sent me the notification of the ping back to my post. Thanks for including my words in your final NaPoWriMo.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Veronica! I call them April centos but I wrote them and posted them in May. This one – the last of the four – was posted four days ago, which is when you got the notification. So all is well, I believe. I wish you a happy June.

      Like

    1. Thank you, Sunra Nina. I think this one is the best, since it’s about what we do. No. 16 is especially interesting: In his last poem, the poet wrote about all the featured NaPoWriMo writers through the month (slightly lamenting that he was not one of them), and the last one happened to be from Nigeria. And I LOVE that squid bit too!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started