PPAC: Stožice street art 1

Today starts a series of three street art posts from Ljubljana with photos that were mysteriously left under my doormat. Really.

It starts with the sign that would make happy a certain demographic. As it is, in Slovenian pot means path and such signs are all along the 30 km (20 miles) circle around Ljubljana, the capital of Slovenia, where the barb wire fence which Italian army built during the World War II used to surround the city. Yesterday you could see a bunker left from those times when I posted an introduction to this series.

If you follow this Path of Remembrance and Comradeship (PST), you reach the Stožice Arena which I showcased yesterday. Then there are certain stairs, and fences, and you know… stuff, and there you go, you land smack bang in the land of wall art, maybe not as public as some other, not really seen from the street, but as I mentioned reading about it in the interview with the photographer Martha Cooper in the main Slovenian newspaper (at least it used to be when I was studying journalism) – she is to blame.

I will not pretend to know much about the artists, I just recognise Azram (or Ramz), 1107 Klan and Hrom. I did try to get in contact with somebody who could show me around this 3-level never-finished shopping centre. I failed but then these photos mysteriously appeared on my doorstep. I’m so lucky.

For Photographing Public Art Challenge (PPAC) hosted by Marsha at Always Write

This day in my blogging history

Published by Manja Maksimovič

A Slovenian in Italy for love. Blogger, photographer, translator and would-be writer who would be a writer if she wrote. Plus reluctant but emerging poet. Beware.

37 thoughts on “PPAC: Stožice street art 1

  1. Firstly if I saw a sign saying ‘pot’ I’d definitely follow it. Secondly I don’t know whether I enjoy your photos more or the captions you put with them. The abstract one that you’ve captioned “I’m easily entertained” is a great shot made better by your comment 😂

    My favourite photo and also such a superior composition is the one with the painting of a Martian with a sort of serpentine puddle leading up to it. Honestly, it’s sublime👌

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you most kindly, Sunra Nina. Last night I returned home from my week with visitors showing off my two countries. It was most wonderful. Now I’ll be more on my blog again. I’m glad you love that alien shot. It was the first piece I saw in there (if you don’t count the easily-entertained splotch). The last art post from here is coming this weekend.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Why am I not surprised that you were just casually showing off your two countries to some visitors?! 😀 Brilliant. It’s an absolute beauty. Exhibition-worthy. I’ll look forward to your next arts post (though I have, alas, fallen behind with everyone’s posts lately!)

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Oh, no no, not casually and not just to some visitors. She is my blogging friend Crystal and she gifted me her camera, as you can read in my today’s post. Thank you, Sunra Nina, I’m glad you like this. Tomorrow the third and last part of this art series will be posted.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started