Lens-Artists PC: I choose

I was really happy to see that this week Tina lets us choose what to post. I’ve just had a wonderful Saturday and wish to show it to you. I went Among Humans again, but it started with a bird.

I think I understand now why I don’t do it often, go anywhere out of my immediate neighbourhood. There is the pandemic, but it’s more than that. I wish to keep it amazing.

It was cold but after a few covered days the sun showed itself again and everything felt new.

As I was driving I looked to the left and saw a bird on the fence staring at me. I slowed down and stared back. The bird was so dark that at first I thought it was a huge crow. Was it an osprey? (ADD-IT: Tina says that it could be a hawk which is even rarer.)

I knew that it would be off before I could reach for my camera and click. I did it slowly but still it took off. I caught it in the air and then again when it landed on a sign. I parked and looked for it but didn’t spot it again.

Next I drove to the end of our beach at Ansedonia. The wind was chilly but the views were lovely.

Finally I reached Orbetello by the lagoon, my shopping destination. This year we are celebrating Christmas in Rome again after one-year pause and I bought some presents.

This was the first time in two years that I entered a non-grocery shop. Everybody wore masks and were friendly and the lights were lovely and the many dogs were either playing or barking fiercely as dogs would. But it was the sunset that stole the show.

After a few hours I had just enough money left (on me, that is, I still deal with old school hard currency) to find a good sweetshop and choose four cupcakes to bring home and share with amore.

Here are twenty images to remember this day. Too many like it and the magic is gone.

For Lens-Artists Photo Challenge, hosted by Tina at Travels and Trifles: You Choose

This day in my blogging history

Published by Manja Maksimovič

A Slovenian in Italy for love. Blogger, photographer, translator and would-be writer who would be a writer if she wrote. Plus reluctant but emerging poet. Beware.

47 thoughts on “Lens-Artists PC: I choose

  1. Oh my goodness Manja, your light that day was absolutely exquisite and you captured it perfectly! Thanks for sharing your beautiful day. I especially loved the farm scenes. BTW I don’t think your bird is an osprey. It looks like a hawk to me – which is much more rare!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ohh, I see! Thank you, Tina! I assumed that it was an osprey (falco pescatore in Italian) because we have many around. A local photographer keeps posting them on FB and mine looked a bit similar. Even more rare then, wow!

      Like

  2. Oh, the light, Manja! And the warm colours – I can feel the delight… And I loved the spaghetti monster – I’ll use that expression – says it all. We have some of those here too. Wishing you a delightful, colourful and gentle Christmas holiday!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Gosh the oranges in those shots are incredible. The light in general you’ve captured works so well as you go down the shots and it goes from late afternoon to sundown. Love the one of the row of cars facing the water, the archway and the GORGEOUS one with the yellow walls and otherworldly light!

    Liked by 1 person

      1. You do all the right things a good photographer should do, an important one being an opportunist, and taking your camera everywhere, and getting out and about all over the place. And I, for one, am very glad to see the results!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I hope you’ll be able to soon. Perhaps you can get an osteopath to visit you at home? They’re so good at clicking you back into place.

        Get well soon! Though of course, perhaps you have extra reading time atm which is always a good thing 💛

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started