Thursday Doors 3/3/22: Celleno 2.

September was ending but it was still hot. Two days before uncle returned to Slovenia we went on our second lovely road trip to see ghost museums and fairy-tale murals. This would be my last trip in company.

I have showed you the ghost town Celleno, its open-air museum in the castle, and all the doors from there already in this post, but almost forgot that a living, non-ghost part of the town with a lovely arch and colourful buildings was waiting to be showed too.

What I loved the most was an uncaptured moment when uncle, bestia and I were getting in the car to leave. The woman came out of her happy house to see what was up. She saw me take photos of her house and just waved. I waved back and we left happy. The next stop was Sant’Angelo di Roccalvecce and its many fairy-tale murals and we didn’t know they would make us even happier.

Let’s have a look at Celleno without the ghosts with this thoughtful thought:

If people did not love one another, I really don’t see what use there would be in having any spring.

~Victor Hugo

For Thursday Doors challenge hosted by Dan at No Facilities

This day in my blogging history

Published by Manja Maksimovič

A Slovenian in Italy for love. Blogger, photographer, translator and would-be writer who would be a writer if she wrote. Plus reluctant but emerging poet. Beware.

36 thoughts on “Thursday Doors 3/3/22: Celleno 2.

  1. I think one must see all these doors once in their life! Such a guilty pleasure.Lovely post as always!

    I love this quote Manja.. I wanna send this to Putin…and I hope he reflects on this.
    “If people did not love one another, I really don’t see what use there would be in having any spring.

    ~Victor Hugo

    Liked by 2 people

  2. You’re giving your new camera a nice workout, Manja. I bet it’s happy to be in your hands. These are all good, and it would be hard to pick a favorite, if not for the cat. By the way, he says “the yellow building goes well with me.”

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hahha! I see how it could seem worrisome, Not Pam, but you see, she fell from the sky… Amore’s father in Rome lives on the ground floor and things fall down and then nobody collects them. He has at least 5 balls. I’m glad you like that arch.

      Like

  3. Wow, Manja, you outdid yourself! So many doors, arches, and I love the landscape view! How are you doing with a war going on, so close? One good thing coming out of it, that people are now courageous and defending their freedom. Am confused of all the political points, but I leave that to the ones who live there.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Emille. Well, Italy is really far from the war zone. Slovenia is closer but still removed enough. I’m glad that you’re taking something good from it. Freedom is definitely worth defending. And I’m glad that you’re loving this town.

      Like

  4. What a beautiful place, Manja. I especially like the way there’s so much foliage and so many plants. My favorite shot is that very first on at the top. The doors are nice but everything else is just lovely!

    janet

    Liked by 2 people

  5. Looks like a great town for a door-lover! And the colours of some of the houses are lovely. I can’t decide if I preffer the faded terracotta or (for a change) the sunshiny yellow!

    Liked by 2 people

  6. So much beauty here, especially in a “ghost” town. The life streaming around doors and windows, and amid the cobble stones, was breathtaking. I love your story: “The woman came out of her happy house to see what was up. She saw me take photos of her house and just waved. I waved back and we left happy.” A happy house. And happy ability to see.

    And your poem! “All blend and mend to make growth faster.” I love that. And I love the Victor Hugo quote. Indeed. Spring. Love.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Love your ekphrastic pantoum! ADORE the photo of Barbie, she looks like she’s trying at least. She would certainly have the element of surprise and distraction as a guard if not muscle.

    And the image of the wine glass with the autumnal backdrop and that warm sunlight I love is just exquisite ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Sunra Nina! The wine shot is from Slovenia, from a lovely sea food restaurant by the sea. I miss that!! The Barbie was in the Roman garden from the poem. I’m really glad that you appreciate her guarding potential and that you like my first pantoum! I must write another.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started