Day Six: Horticulture

It’s Wednesday but I can’t be wordless today. Let’s have some horsies from Monterano, shall we. And in the poem, a lovers’ quarrel with help of Dorothy Parker.

Prompt 6: “Today, I’d like to challenge you to write a variation of an acrostic poem. But rather than spelling out a word with the first letters of each line, I’d like you to write a poem that reproduces a phrase with the first words of each line.

Horticulture

YOU may think you
CAN see where this path will
LEAD us: A patch of green. Nothing
A bit of wholesome
HORTICULTURE won’t solve.
BUT, culture or no culture, even
YOU must know that god
CAN’T grow you green fingers and
MAKE a hortif'ckinculturalist out of you. As for
HER cultural preferences, I like to
THINK Adele is not quite the same as Pushkin.

WORDS IN CAPITALS provided by Dorothy Parker with thanks.

The last day in my NaPoWriMo history

2018: Line length
because they told us to experiment with line length as if it weren’t clear that there could be only
one
endless
undivided
line to go with the horizon above the sea which must be pretty much the biggest success creation-wise geometrically speaking (Read all.)
2019: What if April 6 didn’t happen
What if
on this day in 1941
Yugoslavia were not attacked
or, since it was,
nobody fought back?

What if
on this day 25 years later
a man and a woman  
didn’t start thinking  
how nice it would be to have me? 
(Read on.) 
2020: Merm + Alien
I have an idea. Look at your tail.
See, how it splits at the end?
We pull and
this is how you

t
.e
..a
...r

to bear
new life. 
(Read all.)



2021: I was the fence which needed to be replaced
Hopeful
You know how this ends.
You leave 
and he builds another fence
and another pond
and another stony path
made of stones that he stole from the creek.

In the pond are remains of the broken vase
which the wind knocked down
after he’d placed it on the outside table,
and you said so
since you had a vision
of it falling,
and you said so. 
(Read on.)

This day in my blogging history

Published by Manja Maksimovič

A Slovenian in Italy for love. Blogger, photographer, translator and would-be writer who would be a writer if she wrote. Plus reluctant but emerging poet. Beware.

28 thoughts on “Day Six: Horticulture

  1. Bold and entertaining horse photos in an enchanting environment. I think those horses are cultured indeed. (And I do love that Dorothy Parker quip — and your very engaging poem!) So much richness here. I salute all new beginnings on April 6!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. What an interesting quote to pick,Manja and your poem is delightful. I love the night photograph in the post with the street lights. It reminds me of Leonid Afremov’s paintings.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Smitha! Is it possible that you mentioned him once before? It sounds vaguely familiar. If you open that post, there are more night-time photos in it. This is one of my favourite quotes of all times.

      Like

  3. I enjoyed all your poem words, Manja 🙂 There is always a feats with each post. And Barbie’s shenanigans! Love that photo! What app/software do you use to put text over an image? It’s so effective.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Sunra Nina, also for having a look at so many old ones. No special app nor software, just playing around with the editor here on WordPress. I chose the block Cover and then there are several options. I’m glad that it looks good to you.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Wonderful stuff. I agree. Adele is no Puskin. I love the mystery of the first photo here. What a fabulous place. Those horse riders look like they are riding out of some myth or legend.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started