Day Seven & Thursday Doors 7/4/22: Villa di Radi 2.

This is the last door post from the open-door day last May when I visited three properties south of Siena in Tuscany.

But first, two images and a poem. The first was shared today by a dear friend with this quote:

When a great moment knocks on the door of your life, it is often no louder than the beating of your heart, and it is very easy to miss it.

Boris Pasternak

Thank you, Lyona! Hard to miss your heart knocking!

And now to the daily poem which completes the first week of April. Entertained? You’ll get three more…

Prompt 7:  “Today, I’d like to challenge you to write a poem that argues against, or somehow questions, a proverb or saying.” 

This is something I saw just before starting my poem, by photographer Mostafa Heravi. Nothing to do with doors but it surely got me thinking.

When one door shuts, another opens

This is what they say.
Maybe this is the problem.

You cannot simply get a new

planet
	plant
		plan

carat
	car
		kart

dress
	dance
		door.

When your one door shuts, 
this is the end.

The train stops there.
The door shuts there.
Think before you slam.

Lucky those with many doors who can leave them open or closed at will. Italy is one such.

Last week we reached Radi and walked to its castle which is now a villa available for events or holidays. Today we step outside, mingle among the lemons and arches, and then enter the part which has been refurbished during the pandemic. Nothing if not nice.

After the tour I stopped at the bar from the previous post for some tea and cake and had it in the hot sun. It felt good. When I reached my lonely car, I noticed a garage door partially open and swallows zooming in and out loudly. Their nest must have been inside. They leave the door open for the swallows. How nice.

One more thing and a fair warning: I wrote another poem today, about Luka Dončić, the Slovenian basketball player for Dallas Mavericks who last night got their 50th win of the season. Playoffs start soon. If one of the remaining poetry prompts this April gets to mention our role-models, or victory and sport of any kind, I’m posting it, even though it won’t be written on the day in question. It’s good, you’ll see.

For Thursday Doors challenge hosted by Dan at No Facilities

The last day in my NaPoWriMo history

2018: The vulnerable won’t help
Victims need not blame
swimmers cannot ski
the blind refuse to talk
the living are dead yet.

Happy are those who choose it
the strong are waiting to break
multitudes suck you in
the vulnerable won’t help.

(Visit this post to see What I am.)
2019: Gifting
My job?
I like to leave
art to artists,
poems to poets,  
shots to photographers
and doors to everybody

just as some leave
stones for the takers.  

Gifting is  
giving to yourself
as much as to others,
and lucky us who can. 

Read all.

2020: Talk to a Swede
It was four years ago,
and the news was brief:
the number +46 771 793 336
and the invitation
“Get connected to a random Swede
and talk about anything”.

Swedish Tourist Association is precise.
In 79 days they got 197678 calls
that lasted 367 days in total.
The calls were from 190 countries,
the most from the USA,
the last from Australia. 

Read on.

2021: Fib tango
What
a
lesson.
Serves me right.
Expectations fail.
Now how can I be so hopeful?

This day in my blogging history

Published by Manja Maksimovič

A Slovenian in Italy for love. Blogger, photographer, translator and would-be writer who would be a writer if she wrote. Plus reluctant but emerging poet. Beware.

72 thoughts on “Day Seven & Thursday Doors 7/4/22: Villa di Radi 2.

  1. Great poem, Manja! I love your doors today. When I first looked at the one that says “I say” I thought the painting was the scene outside a window. I love the arches, but my favorite today is the Let’s Party room. I’m picturing that room full of people and that table overflowing with food and wine.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Day Eight
  3. Had to return to bask in this again. All the effort you put into these is not going unappreciated. I adore your posts. Thanks for being so generous with your photography and words. You’re the bestest. I bless you. xoxo

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for your return visit, Selma. You get two desserts. 🙂 I’m so glad that you’re well fed on my blog! On May 20th will be one year since I’ve been posting daily and I think I shall have a bit of a rest. But I’m pretty sure I’ll still be posting doors.

      Like

  4. Manja, I already liked your post on the forum, but this is just class apart. Loved the poem very much. It is sad and hits where it hurts. Although, the images you shared of your trip to Italy are such a mood lifter 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Yippie yay. Congratulations,Manja on being featured. Funny, you chose this phrase to write your poem. This is another one ( other than the one I wrote on) that had me confused when I was young. Kind of contradicted with ‘ opportunity knocks once.’ Your poem is wonderful. Big hugs on being featured ❤

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I came back to tell you the doors are very beautiful. I missed ‘Thursday doors’ this time. Don’t have doors left in my kitty anymore. Need to travel 🙂.
        And that Twitter post…wow…thank you for sharing. Congrats again!💕

        Liked by 1 person

  6. Congratulations on being featured. I enjoyed the poem, and the photos were a happiness boost. Tuscany is the one place I’d like to visit if I traveled overseas. Stephanie

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Wonderful sparse poem and punchy message. We all need reminding! Saw your poem on NaPoWriMo, excellent! I bet it’s not the first time you’ve been chosen 🙂 And I love the opening quote, I needed that today. I’ll read the rest of your other poems properly when I get a chance (this month is a bit mental so far). ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much, Sunra Nina, also for your shoutout over there. I’m so happy to be featured and that many like this poem that was born from necessity. Every year when I’m featured it’s like the best thing that could happen. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Out of the doors and other photos, my favorites are the one looking out (yes, what a view and I say keep it for yourself!) and the walk back to the main road (I like to be sitting there with tea or coffee.) Out of all the writing, the thing that caught my eye and amused me was the blurb about talking to a random Swede. Fascinating! Have a lovely day and weekend, Manja.

    janet

    Liked by 1 person

  9. I love, love, love this poem, Manja. This is exactly how I have been thinking about the whole planet, plant, plan business lately. And I love all your door poems. So glad you were the featured participant with this and so glad I finally made it to your new blog. Great blog name, by the way.
    Now, I’ll simply work my way backwards through the previous posts. You know I love your poetry.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Nataša. It made me really happy to see you find your way over. I hope you did, worked back. I’m honoured that you like what I wrote and glad that you share my sentiments. This blog name was funny to me and still is. 😀 Always welcome back.

      Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started