Day 14 & Thursday Doors: First two weeks of Tuscany

My first three blogs were called Mexi Movie. I’m ready for a film of my life. In fact, this is what my blog is. A film with lots of doors.

Prompt 14: “Today’s challenge is a fun one: write a poem that takes the form of the opening scene of the movie of your life.

Nine years ago was 14th of April just like today, except everything was new.

The Mexi Movie

In the first scene, 
a pretty door presents itself. 
It opens
and the words come rolling up: 
“On this day nine years ago”.

A little car 
is showed on the map 
slowly making progress 
across the border into Italy
until the sign says TUSCANY.

It’s a cartoon,
and I who am watching it 
in the cinema with my parents
am five and crying, 
just like when I realised 
that one day my mother would turn 50.

Why Italy? 
I don’t even like Italians that much.
And where is this Tuscany anyway?
So FAR? 
How about my parents?
Why do I leave them? (More crying.)

I love my blog 
because it’s so much like the film of my life. 
I have a producer, 
the theme is set 
but the pages I must fill myself.

And you make an excellent audience.

In photos, the doors and other glimpses from my first two weeks in Italy. Most are from our home and our first trip to Tuscania on May the 1st 2013. We had to wait two more months to get bestia. I needed another year to start blogging and two more years to discover something called Thursday Doors, and yet my eyes and my camera were on them already.

And now? Onwards.

For Thursday Doors challenge hosted by Dan at No Facilities

The last day in my NaPoWriMo history

2018: Follow your dreams
A shark is a predator,
but you shall, you claim,
be a sheep dog.
A predator too,
with priorities straight.

A wobbly table:
In our house? Never.
You shall even change screws
for aesthetic reasons.
And for ever. (Read all.)
2019: Six years of practice
Hard to know
what he means sometimes
if a word
starts with H.
In his language it’s silent.
And illarious.

So we eat  
the furnace when cold
and heat fruit
and salad.  
At hate o’clock he tells them:
“I eight mosquitoes.” 

Read all.

2020: I have a dog
I have a dog. My dog has four legs and an attitude.
I have a record player. On my record player 
   there is more dust than records.
I have a sister. My sister is far.
I have two coats. One to keep me warm, 
   the other to keep me cool.
I have a plant. I have a plant to see 
   if I can keep something alive in my room.
I have Marco. I have Marco because I love him.
I haven’t seen a match in years.
I have a body. With the body I don’t do much at all.
I have destruction. We all do. Destruction is getting visible.

Read all.

2021: Nomen is oh, man!
I inherited Mexi,
the nickname of my father,
just that his is spelled Meksi;
both mean something larger.
...
But nomen est omen,
no hiding the plot:
So I eat and watch movies.
Rather a lot. 

Read all.

This day in my blogging history

Published by Manja Maksimovič

A Slovenian in Italy for love. Blogger, photographer, translator and would-be writer who would be a writer if she wrote. Plus reluctant but emerging poet. Beware.

39 thoughts on “Day 14 & Thursday Doors: First two weeks of Tuscany

  1. You have written an excellent movie, and it has been my pleasure to watch. I was here for blogs 1 through 3 and I remember many of the scenes. I should have brought popcorn. The photos are lovely, the poem is likewise. Thank you for continuing your amazing support of Thursday Doors. I hope you have a wonderful weekend.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Dan. You’ve been following my story unfold and I thank you. After May 20th, when my one year of daily posting and looking back through blogs is done, I’ll have a bit of a break but on Thursdays I’ll be on. I wish us all a good movie.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. We haven’t met in the typical way, but I’ve learned a lot about you from your poetry and photography, and this does indeed feel like YOUR movie. ❤ I like how you capture the bafflement we can feel at our own life choices, their mysterious momentum.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Sunra Nina. Well, I immediately connected my blog and the movie of my life in the making. Plus it was the anniversary so it came together just perfectly. In a parallel like I’m a movie director… And an art dealer… (Ohh, I could go on and on and maybe will in a poem.) But nothing to do if you’re not feeling the prompts…

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yes, that idea is so harmonious, it makes sense with your blog. I’m still going to try and do the prompts regardless! I liked the early ones but not this week’s! Still looking forward to seeing tomorrow’s though… 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Oh I love entering your film during the second reel where you, Amore, Tuscany and Bestia make beautiful music together. I’m also grateful that your poem provides snippets of the first reel too. Such courage!

    And the happy ending? that beautiful B&W photo of Amore kissing you by the sea… Swoon.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started