Lens-Artists PC: Shadow heroes

Where I live there is a little park. I needed a while but then I realised what is strange about it: there is not a single bench. But there are tall pine trees that cast great shadows.

I’m not a fan of black and photo photos (mine, that is) but I thought this photo of three pines taken a while ago was interesting when converted. A translator, I posted the photo on the right once before with this quote:

Translators are the shadow heroes of literature.

Paul Auster

I went through ALL my photos (well, quickly) and searched for photos taken in this park in the nine years since I’m here with as much variety regarding light conditions as I could find. Let’s have a look.

For Lens-Artists Photo Challenge, hosted by Patti at P. A. Moed: Light and Shadow

This day in my blogging history

Published by Manja Maksimovič

A Slovenian in Italy for love. Blogger, photographer, translator and would-be writer who would be a writer if she wrote. Plus reluctant but emerging poet. Beware.

35 thoughts on “Lens-Artists PC: Shadow heroes

  1. Those pine trees are so sculptural, they look majestic against the sunsets and also the blue skies. I think your three pines look great in B&W but I also like the colour version 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. The sunset photos are beautiful, and I really appreciate the color/B&W contrast. Each gives something different. What an inspired idea to show the park in different seasons, without a difference! Of course, I love the basketball hoop and the photo of you and your Mom. Go Mavs!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. A wonderful montage of photos, Manja. I can’t believe you live in such a divine place. But of course you do. It is a typical Taurean thing to live somewhere as fine as that. And I suppose you already know this but you have to edit the contrast ever such a lot when you convert a colour image to a black and white one as it can all be such a uniform palette grey otherwise. But it makes such a difference when you do, doesn’t it? Ansel Adams knows all about it. But I prefer to see in technicolor anyway.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh, Sunra Nina, that’s why I leave b&w mostly alone. Such hassle. Ansel Adams was so marvellous but many who do it nowadays fall short in comparison. A divine place is a relative thing. Joy comes from social interaction too, and if there is none, even a divine place feels like a prison. No wonder I talk to trees.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. You’re right, and I totally understand. Divine is relative. You make me laugh with that last comment! I’m sure the trees love it! I know what you mean. The amount of times I’ve been passing through somewhere beautiful on my own and found myself in the throng of a carnival or a street band or just a lovely stroll somewhere far from home but no one to share the moment with and unable to talk to strangers because of a language barrier, just me and my camera. I totally get it. Just so you know, you are most welcome to message me any time if you ever feel like that ❤ And you should know I think you have one of the most wonderful brains I've ever come across. Ha ha!!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. How sweet and generous you are. ❤ My brain is blushing. I'm glad that you get it but also not because it's a sad feeling. I'm off in three days for three months. I'll need to learn to connect with people again…

        Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started