August 2021

I’m still here, just less so. It’s the time of month to look back a year and re-experience my last year’s August.

How are you? I miss you and your blogs. I’m still in Slovenia, waiting for the basketball Euro Championship to begin (and end) before I return to Tuscany. It is a completely different matter to celebrate Luka Dončić in our mutual country.

Piran is a little paradise and bestia and I are having a wonderful relaxed holiday with my parents, just my creativity level is really low. I also don’t read, for example, just keep watching millions of movies and series. Currently my favourite is Bosch. I also went to a jazz concert by Slovenian band Wckd Nation under the church tower of Piran.

But now let us go back in time. Last year I spent the first half of August in green Slovenia and the second half back in scorched Tuscany. The tour starts in our Ljubljana garden where our annual card tournament takes place. Last year I wasn’t being a very good host, and won.

Previous months of 2021:

August in previous years:

Published by Manja Maksimovič

A Slovenian in Italy for love. Blogger, photographer, translator and would-be writer who would be a writer if she wrote. Plus reluctant but emerging poet. Beware.

22 thoughts on “August 2021

  1. Hello, Manja. I love that you are posting on your own schedule, with your own ideas of what you want to share. And your ideas are beautiful. The photographs and commentary sweep me to Piran (or Tuscany) with you. Such inventive (and lovely) images. I’m particularly captivated by the reflection in the dress window and the modern architecture of Piran.

    Take your time to pop up again. And Go, Slovenia!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Hurrah for your cheering, Carol Ann, it made me smile as it always does. 🙂 Just to clarify: This post has text about right now in Piran (a tiny old town on the coast of Slovenia), but in the photos there is past August with not one photo from Piran. The modern architecture is in the capital of Slovenia, Ljubljana.

      Like

  2. You have an excellent blogging position. Love the compositions, as ever, especially the different qualities of light you’ve captured. That image with what looks like a mirror but is actually a reflection through the bridge is incredible. Well-spotted! Such an incredible natural illusion! Hope you are well, Manja ❤

    Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started